BizBash New York Readers’ Choice Awards: Voting Is Now Open

September 20, 2011, 1:00 PM EDT

BizBash has announced the event and meeting professionals who have been named as finalists in our second New York Readers’ Choice Awards. This group of nominees across 10 categories—including Association/Nonprofit Event Planner of the Year, Caterer of the Year, Corporate Planner of the Year, Designer of the Year, and Venue Manager of the Year—was endorsed by industry peers in a call for nominations that recognize individual contributions to the New York event and meeting industry. This year, we added category Entertainment Act of the Year in response to reader feedback.

Voting closes on Sunday, October 16, at 11:59 p.m., and the winners will be announced during the award presentation at the BizBash New York Expo & Awards at the Jacob Javits Convention Center on Wednesday, October 19.

And the finalists are:

Association/Nonprofit Event Planner of the Year
C. Nana-Oye Addo Yobo, Asia Society
Toby Boshak, Princess Grace Foundation
Ann Dean, Joe Torre Safe at Home Foundation
Caroline Gould, ALSAC / St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Gina Rogak, Whitney Museum of American Art
Jim Samalis, Robin Hood Foundation

Caterer of the Year
Michael Adasko, Shiraz Events
Olivier Cheng, Olivier Cheng Events
Mary Giuliani, Mary Giuliani Catering and Events
Jim Kirsch, Abigail Kirsch
Paul Neuman, Neuman’s Catering
Thomas Preti, Thomas Preti Caterers

Corporate Event Planner of the Year
Denise d’Arbonne, PepsiCo
Sara Gorlick, Linkshare
Rachel Gross, AOL
Theresa Lopez, ExL Pharma
Ellie Winkleman, SL Green Realty Corp.

DJ of the Year
DJ Chef
Danny Estrella, Music to the Max
Tom Finn, Top Spin Entertainment
Kevin Gould, DJKevG
Shaun Vakil, DJ Pazel
DJ Willie

Entertainment Act of the Year
Thomas Michael Allan, the Water Coolers
Michael Arenella, Dreamland Orchestra
Jill & Gill Bumby, the Bumbys
Julie Feldman, Orchestrations
Karen Fuhrman, Grounded Aerial
Scott Hornak, Craig Scott Orchestra
Mia Moretti & Caitlin Moe
Jonathan Nosan, Mirror Men
Brad Wilson, the Three Waiters

Event Designer of the Year
Mark Addison, Eventstyle
Garin Baura, Baura New York L.L.C.
David Beahm, David Beahm Designs
Christine Brower, C. Brower & Co Creative Events
Jes Gordon, ProperFUN
Jung Lee, Fete NY
Debra Roth, Pink Powered by Moss
David Stark, David Stark Design
Ron Wendt, Ron Wendt Design

Event Producer of the Year

Reed Baker, Sophist Productions
Lisa Chu, Team Epiphany
Ryan Jordan, Studio HS
Leslie Mastin, State of the Art Enterprises
JB Miller, Empire Entertainment
Mark Rubinsky, MC2
Morgan Steele Connacher, Fourth Wall Events

Publicist/PR Executive of the Year
Sean Cassidy, Dan Klores Communications
Valerie Chiam, Team Epiphany
Elizabeth Harrison, Harrison & Shriftman
James LaForce, LaForce & Stevens
Norah Lawlor, Lawlor Media Group
Susan Magrino, Susan Magrino Agency
Paul Wilmot, Paul Wilmot Communications
Brad Zeifman, Shadow PR

Social Event Planner of the Year
Annette Babich, Annette Babich Events
Carolyn Bender, Cab Fare Catering
Marcy Blum, Marcy Blum
Samantha Goldberg, Samantha Goldberg & Co.
JoAnn Gregoli, Elegant Occasions
Tina LaMorte, Oh So Fabulous L.L.C.
Kimberly Pilson, the Wedding Sitter
Shawn Rabideau, Shawn Rabideau Events & Design
Harriette Rose Katz, Gourmet Advisory Services
Nick Yarmac, David Beahm Design

Venue Manager of the Year
Jaclyn Gorman, Apella
Emily Gould, Metronome Hospitality Group
Ayman Kamel, Frames Bowling
B. Allan Kurtz, Gotham Hall
Michael Lotwich, Sentry Centers
Felix Parache, Amnesia NYC
Lee Anne Rees, 10 on the Park at Time Warner Center
Jessica Rothstein Berman, BB King Blues Club / Highline Ballroom / Blue Note
Steven Tanzman, Yacht Events L.L.C.

To cast your vote, go to

For more information about the BizBash New York Expo & Awards, go to

Sign up for the BizBash Daily - stay current with the event industry.
Your email inquiry will be sent to 3 venue