Nominations are now open for the 12th Annual EEAs!
It's time to make your mark. Nominations are now open for the 12th Annual Event Experience Awards!

ISES New York Chapter Announces Winners of Big Apple Awards and Installs New Board

On Tuesday night, the New York metro chapter of the International Special Events Society held its annual Big Apple Awards and board of directors installation ceremony at the Edison Ballroom. Incoming president Howard Givner called it the "most successful gala in several years." With more than 250 guests in attendance, the society praised event achievements of individuals and companies in 20 categories. 

Along with revealing the winners of this year's awards, the society inducted industry veterans into the Hall of Legends in recognition of their career achievements. The four honorees were Ark Restaurants vice president Walter Rauscher, Marcy Blum Associates founder and president Marcy Blum, Pink Inc. C.E.O. and creative director Debra Roth, and Academy Bus C.E.O. Francis Tedesco. Additionally, the Child Abuse Prevention Program and New York City's Office of Citywide Event Coordination and Management received ISES CORE Awards for exhibiting the best event results to advance their mission.

Here's a look at the rest of the winners:

Best Corporate Event

Best Corporate Multiple-Day Event
Barkley Kalpak Associates

Best Demonstration of R.O.I.
Sophist Productions

Best Entertainment/Program Concept
Bounce Music and Entertainment

Best Fund-Raising
LW Events

Best Application/Use of C.S.R. Strategy or Green Initiative
Wizard Studios

Best Invitation Design
Ceci New York

Best ISES New York Metro Chapter Collaboration
Pink Inc.

Best New Rental Item
Pink Inc.

Best New Venue
92nd Y Tribeca

Best Overall Design/Decor
Wedding Library by Claudia Hanlin and Jennifer Zabinski

Best Photographic Image
Andre Maier Photography

Best PR/Marketing Initiative
Global Events

Best Social Event
Wedding Library for Claudia Hanlin and Jennifer Zabinski

Best Tabletop Design
Wedding Library by Claudia Hanlin and Jennifer Zabinski

Best Use of Social Media
Pink Inc. and Fifth Avenue Digital

Best Use of Lighting
Levy Lighting

Best Video for an Event
Avenue 5 Films

Here is the board of directors for 2010-2011:

Howard Givner, president
Debra Roth, president-elect
Jennifer Quinones, immediate past president
Nerissa Balland, vice president of communications
Rhonda Cosaluzzo, vice president of membership
Paul Newman, vice president of programs and education
Morgan Steele-Connacher, director membership
Beth Eisgrau Heller, directory of programs and education
Cheryl Kahn-Brocco, director at large
Andrea Figman, director at large
Mark Shearon, director at large
Ellie Winkleman, director at large

Among the gala's sponsors were Avenue 5 Films, Dave Lawrence Acoustic, Drape Kings, Edison Ballroom, Events Force, Photo Bureau, Pink Inc., Vali Entertainment, and Wizard Studios.